top of page

Review: The Biggest, Most beautiful Christmas Tree






Title: The Biggest, Most Beautiful Christmas Tree

Author: Amye Rosenberg

Illustrator: Amye Rosenberg









Spec Spot



I have very vivid memories of sitting on the edge of the bed while my Grandma read me this story among other times someone read me this book. I also have memories of reading it myself because I fell in love with this book when I was a kid and even now, so many years later, whenever I see this book, it makes me smile.




What's it about?

In a big fir tree in the forest, live 3 families who love Christmas, but Christmas makes them sad, too because no matter what they do, Santa always misses them. In an attempt o cheer up the the young chipmunks, their parents threw a Christmas part on Christmas eve night in which wise Aunt Mim comes prepared to save the day and ensure that Santa doesn't miss them this year



Favorites:









Favorite Character: Aunt Mim. I don't remember who I favored when I was a kid, maybe the little chipmunks, but now, as an adult, it's Aunt Mim. She's fun, creative and quirky.














Favorite Part: This might sound a little odd, but when they are decorating the tree. I think that has a lot to do with, for some reason, this image (the the right), and especially the santa balloon has stuck with me all these years. It still comes to mind sometimes randomly. Well that and it just sounds like so much fun!












Other Thoughts:

Like I said, there's something deeply nostalgic for me with this book. I can't tell you what it was that little me adored so much.I think part o it was that it wasn't the same Christmas stories everyone was favorite like Rudolph and Twas the Night before Christmas. Of course I liked those stories, but I wanted something different. I also find, even now something magical about the story and the idea that little animals, to are celebrating the holiday I love so much, waiting for Santa because he's for everyone, not just certain species and the idea of a tree full of cute animals bouncing around in the branches decorating their home kind of like we put lights up was just everything for me.


Now I also appreciate that Aunt Mim didn't go to a craft store for all of the most magnificent ornaments and lights. She didn't color coordinate. She just seems to have grabbed what she had on hand, gather with her friends and family, let everyone express themselves however they wanted to create something beautiful. It wasn't about being perfect. It wasn't about having the "right" decorations. It was about doing something together and not giving up, even thinking outside the box and, in the end, it worked. They got to spend Christmas together and Santa came.


As you may have guessed, this is one of my favorite stories to read with my kiddos when the Holiday season comes. And everytime I smile and get excited and they get excited because I am and they like that I share special things from when I was a kid with them. I plan to read this to my grandkids, if I get any, as well.


And I'm super excited to share it with y'll, too!



Ratings:

I give this book a

9

out of

10 Christmas Trees



But that's just what I think. Was this a childhood favorite for you? Do you share this book with your favorite kiddos? Let us know in the comments!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page